WICT’s PowerBrokers Awards

Michelle Ray, Executive Director of the Walter Kaitz Foundation, received the “Know Yourself Award”, from WICT’s Washington DC/Baltimore Chapter during their annual PowerBrokers Awards on October 4.  The event, held at the National Press Club, recognizes the winners of WICT’s Touchstones of Leadership Awards.  The awards are presented to professionals who have made a positive contribution to the cable and telecommunications industry through leadership, vision, and dedication.

“The “Know Yourself Award” has special meaning for me because it speaks to authenticity and speaking your truth,” said Ray.  Who also expressed gratitude to the DC-Baltimore Chapter of WICT for recognizing her in this way.

Keynoting the event was Kimberly Brooks, anchor and correspondent for ABC News Live, the network’s breaking news and live streaming channel. She also hosts ‘The Debrief’ and ‘The Briefing room.” Entertainment for the event was pianist and composer Ellington Carthan.


Brad Surdam Vice President, Engineering Comcast’s Beltway Region; Karen Greenfield
Senior Vice President of Business & Production Operations National Geographic Partners; Janet Uthman, Vice President, Inclusion and Multicultural Marketing, Comcast Northeast Division; Jana Fay, Vice President of Finance, C-SPAN; Michelle Ray, Executive Director, The Walter Kaitz Foundation; Vonya Alleyne, Vice President, Human Resources, Cox Communication, Virginia; and Lesli Rotenberg, Chief Programming Executive & General Manager, Children’s Media and Education, PBS.